The National Maritime Historical Society

You are here > Events > 2018 Maritime Awards Dinner


2018 Maritime Awards Dinner


The National Maritime Historical Society and the National Coast Guard Museum Association will honor three distinguished individuals at their National Maritime Awards Dinner on Wednesday, April 25, 2018, at the elegant and historic Mayflower Hotel in Washington, D.C.  This illustrious event brings together in one place those who love and serve the sea—leaders of the military sea services, merchant marine and maritime industry; maritime authors and artists; environmentalists, conservationists, oceanographers, sea explorers and scientists; competitive yachtsmen; philanthropists and government officials who have supported America’s maritime heritage; industrial and pleasure boat designers and builders; cruise lines operators; aquaculturalists; maritime educators; and maritime educational institutions and museums.

It is with great excitement that Dr. Timothy Runyan and Denise Krepp, co-chairs for the 2018 National Maritime Awards Dinner, announce this year’s three extraordinary honorees:

J. W. Marriott Jr. will receive the NMHS Distinguished Service Award.   Mr. Marriott is Executive Chairman and Chairman of the Board of Marriott International, Inc., after serving as CEO for 40 years before stepping down in March 2012. He has built the company into a global business with more than 4,200 properties in 80 countries, and approximately 365,000 employees. Mr. Marriott served as a supply officer aboard the USS Randolph during the Vietnam War which he calls a great learning experience that helped launch his hospitality career. Marriott International has a “Spirit to Serve” philosophy, fostered by Bill Marriott to provide extensive corporate support to America’s returning veterans.

William C. Baker will receive the NMHS Distinguished Service Award.  Mr. Baker is the president and CEO of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation, the largest nonprofit conservation organization dedicated solely to preserving and restoring the Chesapeake Bay. With over 200,000 members, the Chesapeake Bay Foundation is a fierce advocate working to protect and restore a national treasure and integral part of America’s maritime heritage through advocacy, education, litigation and restoration. Mr. Baker is focused on one goal—“Saving the Bay,” and achieving a clean, healthy and productive estuarine system that will be a model for water bodies worldwide. The director of many organizations, Mr. Baker holds honorary doctorates from several universities and is the recipient of the 1992 Presidential Medal for Environmental Excellence, the nation’s highest environmental honor. He

Donald T. “Boysie” Bollinger will receive the National Coast Guard Museum Association’s Alexander Hamilton Award. After a lifetime of providing quality construction of vessels for both military and civilian use, Mr. Bollinger has continued to be recognized for his generosity and philanthropic giving. His influence and dedication have benefited many organizations, most especially the United States Coast Guard Foundation and National World War II Museum. For his unwavering support, the National Coast Guard Museum Association is honored to recognize this icon within the maritime industry. Former United States Secretary of Homeland Security and Governor of Pennsylvania Tom Ridge will present the award to Boysie Bollinger.

Gary Jobson, America’s Cup winner and America’s “Ambassador of Sailing,” will be the Master of Ceremonies. Video introductions of the recipients will be produced by Rick Lopes and XXL Media.

Founding dinner chairman Philip Webster recommends that guests make their reservations by emailing or by calling 914 737-7878, ext. 0, right away, since he predicts this dinner will sell out especially early.  Tickets are priced from $275. The National Maritime Historical Society and the National Coast Guard Museum Association are also seeking sponsorship support at varying levels from corporations, associations, foundations and individuals that wish to support the work of the United States maritime community at the National Maritime Awards Dinner and to honor the 2018 award recipients while contributing to the educational programming of both organizations.  Sponsorship opportunities from $600 to $50,000 available.  For more information on sponsorship or tickets, please see the Sponsorship Packet and contact Vice President Wendy Paggiotta by email at or by phone at 914-737-7878, ext. 235.

Comments: Leave a comment Categories: Events, Headlines, NMHS Events Posted By:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *