The National Maritime Historical Society

You are here > Events > SAVE THE DATE: National Maritime Awards Dinner


SAVE THE DATE: National Maritime Awards Dinner

The National Maritime Historical Society, in association with the Naval Historical Foundation, invites you to the gala National Maritime Awards Dinner in our nation’s capital.


The National Maritime Historical Society (NMHS) and the Naval Historical Foundation (NHF) will honor three distinguished individuals and organizations at their National Maritime Awards Dinner on Tuesday, 4 April 2017, at the elegant, historic and iconic Mayflower Hotel in Washington, DC.

This illustrious event brings together those who love and serve the sea—leaders of the military sea services, merchant marine and maritime industry; maritime authors and artists; oceanographers, sea explorers and scientists; competitive yachtsmen; philanthropists and government officials who have supported America’s maritime heritage; industrial and pleasure boat designers and builders; cruise lines operators; aquaculturalists; maritime educators; and maritime educational institutions and museums.

Funds raised support the education initiatives of both organizations.

Join us the maritime community gathers to honor Conservation Internaci_42483771tional, an American non-profit environmental organization, and its chairman and founder Peter Seligmann, on the occasion of its 30th anniversary. Conservation International has had a major impact on the health of the world’s oceans and shorelines with scientists, policy workers, and conservationists on the ground in more than 30 countries. The NMHS Distinguished Service Award will be presented by Thomas L. Friedman, the distinguished three-time Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times columnist.

The NMHS Distinguished Service Award will also be given to the National Geographic Society for its extraordinary achievements in chronicling mankind’s relationship with the water and educating tens of millions of readers and viewers about our global maritime heritage. Since its first issue, National Geographic magazine has introduced generation after generation to maritime cultures around the globe and how they have contributed to our civilization. National Geographic magazine is currently published in 40 local-language editions in many countries around the world. Combined English and other language circulation is around 6.8 million monthly. Gary Knell, president and CEO of the National Geographic Society, will accept the award, which will be presented by internationally-recognized underwater explorer Dr. Robert Ballard, discoverer of the wreck of the Titanic.

The Naval Historical Foundation Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Dr. J. Phillip London, executive chairman and former CEO of CACI International for 23 jacklondoncaciphotoyears until 2007. Under Dr. London’s leadership, CACI has become a trendsetter in offering IT solutions and consulting services across markets throughout North America and Western Europe. Dr. London served 12 years as an officer during the Cold War, as a naval aviator and carrier pilot from 1959 to 1971, and in the US Naval Reserve until 1983. He has made extensive contributions to naval heritage projects and has served on many boards, including the Naval Historical Foundation, the United States Naval Institute and the Navy Memorial Foundation. The NHF Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Dr. London by Admiral William J. Fallon, USN (Ret.), chairman of the Naval Historical Foundation.


Tickets to the dinner are $275 and sponsorship opportunities are available. For more information to order tickets, please call 914 737-7878 x 0.

This affair is traditionally sold out and seating is limited, so early responses are recommended.

1127 Connecticut Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036

The Mayflower Hotel is a historic venue that you will want to experience. President Franklin D. Roosevelt wrote his famous “We have nothing to fear but fear itself” speech there, and this is just one of the many historic events that have taken place in that iconic hotel. While an enjoyable and fulfilling evening will be had by all, it is all in support of our maritime heritage.

HOTEL RESERVATIONS:mayflower-hotel-courtesy-marriott-intntl
Reservations can be made online or by calling 877 212-5752. Rooms for the NMHS block are $379/night plus taxes, and available until the block is sold, or  March 17, 2017 at 5 pm.

If you would prefer to make your reservation by phone, please call 877 212-5752 and let them know that you are in the NMHS room block.


CAPT Jim Noone, USN (Ret.) Dinner Co-Chair
Dr. Timothy J. Runyan, Dinner Co-Chair
Philip Webster, Founding Chair

Charles B. Anderson; Jonathan Boulware ; John Brady; Walter R. Brown; CAPT Patrick Burns, USN (Ret.); RADM Joseph F. Callo, USN (Ret.); Dr. William Cogar; CAPT Charles Creekman, USN (Ret.); Vice Admiral Dirk J. Debbink, USNR (Ret.); Donna Dudley; Dr. William Dudley; Paul Fontenoy; David S. Fowler; Burchenal Green; Kristen Greenaway; Karen Helmerson; Dana Hewson; Howard Hoege; Gary Jobson; Dr. Paul F. Johnston; Vice Admiral Al Konetzni, USN (Ret.); Denise Krepp; Amy Lent; Richardo Lopes; Guy E. C. Maitland; Ginger Martus; LCDR Jim Mathieu, USCG (Ret.); CAPT Sally Chin McElwreath, USN (Ret.); Drew McMullen; Captain James J. McNamara; RADM John Mitchell USN (Ret.); Captain Eric Nielsen; Ronald L. Oswald; Admiral Robert J. Papp, Jr., USCG (Ret.); The Honorable S. Jay Plager; Bert Rogers; Christopher Rowsom; Kristen Sarri; Clair Sassin; Richard Scarano; Philip Shapiro; Howard Slotnick; Duncan Smith III, Esq; Dr. Joshua Smith; Captain Cesare Sorio; Irmy Webster; Dr. David Winkler; Jean Wort


Comments: Leave a comment Categories: Events, Headlines, NMHS Events, Uncategorized Posted By:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *